Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (32) - TV Shows (1)

CKY Documentary review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 1 November 2011 05:45 (A review of CKY Documentary)

I'm just going to write one review for the like 4-5 CKY movies that are out.

Ok. So.

I first started watching these when I was say, 14?
I use to skateboard and Bam Margera (of course) was my favorite. I had a huge mega crush on him (I can't believe I ever did now that I think about it) and so I wanted to watch his films.

Being the age I was with the attitude of a rebel I thought they were the bees knees. I really did. It had skateboarding, stupid skits with silly antics, and a descent soundtrack.

Little did I know that these films would be a pre-cursor for what we all know as the Jackass films.

I rewatched these a few weeks ago, and I find them almost painfully hilarious. Horrible camera work, and horrid scripts and acting. (But as I understand the best that an early, less rich, less experienced Bam Margera could do.) I was surprisingly still drawn to the skateboarding footage, wishing I still could do things of the sort. It re introduced me to my love for CKY the band, which has been lost in the mass amounts of a newly forming love for other genres of music.

Overall it was a HUGE backtrack into my early teenage years. It actually made me quite sad/depressed. It showed me that I have grown so much since then and no longer have the fighting spirit/ energy that I use to have. It showed me how critical I am of everything, mainly media and I can no longer enjoy just what is simply in front of me. I wasn't expecting this at all when I went to go re watch them, but it was a big slap in the face. Also seeing Ryan Dunn is kinda sad D:


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Candyman review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 1 November 2011 05:24 (A review of Candyman)

I am such a sucker for documentaries. Especially when it comes to a topic I know a TON about.

I love Jelly Belly jellybeans. They have the most unique flavors and you can even mix them to make other flavors, it's the best part of Easter for sure. I can't stand any other kind of jelly bean.

After watching this documentary though, I feel like I can't enjoy them anymore. D:

This documentary is about the original creator of the Jelly Belly jellybeans. Which if you don't know, he has been erased COMPLETELY from any history dealing with the product, due to corporate assholes.

It's about his history, life, and story about how the Jelly Belly came to be, and what happened to his fame and fortune.

It overall was very interesting, being that this man 'Mr. Jelly Belly' has done nothing his entire life except be the most giving and caring person ever, only be to screwed over by money guzzling companies. He is a tad weird, but I like that about him. How could the creator of Jelly Belly not be weird? The weirdest part of this movie is the random offbeat cameo that Weird Al makes. I'm watching this film and then all of a sudden Weird Al is on the screen and I'm like "What the hell, am I having a flashback, or did Weird Al appear on my screen for like 5 seconds?"

I do suggest this movie to anyone who enjoys documentaries as much as I do, and also loves Jelly Belly's as I do. I didn't know such a conspiracy was behind something as simple as a jelly bean manufacturer.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gangs of New York review

Posted : 5 years, 11 months ago on 1 November 2011 04:52 (A review of Gangs of New York)

This one is gonna be short.

Gangs of New York was one of those movies I always wanted to watch, but being that I was 12 my parents didn't let me. Well here I am a healthy 21 year old and FINALLY got around to watching it.

I must say, it was everything I hoped it would be.

First off the cinematography was amazing. Beautiful use of color. The vibrant colors seemed to be doused with a dark shadow which gave the entire film a dreary feel despite the rich color use. I absolutely enjoyed the fact that when there was blood, it was always a hue of bright red, and not dulled to be more realistic. I love that in films when the idea of blood is taken out of reality and given an artistic vibe, especially when blood is a main factor in the film. (300, Kick Ass)

Accents in this movie were a plus. Not overbearing, just a hint of accent from all the characters gave a good perspective of the origin of the characters without shoving it down your throat.

Again amazing performances by Daniel Day-Lewis, and Leonardo DiCaprio. As far as Cameron Diaz's performance, she did her role well, but every time I saw her I was like 'Hey that's Cameron Diaz.' I feel like they should have altered her in some way to make her look less like herself.

The script was well played, it didn't feel forced.

The violence was a plus, it was there when it was needed and not much more than that.

Overall the story was enthralling, kept my attention, it was a tad bit too long. Other than the length of the film and Cameron Diaz's appearance this film was pretty ace. Also one last thing to add, I absolutely love how the feelings towards the 'Villain' in this film changes. You hate him at one point, your ok with him in other points, and then you go back to hating him, there's even times when you almost feel sorry for him it's wonderful.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Night at the Roxbury review

Posted : 5 years, 12 months ago on 26 October 2011 12:32 (A review of A Night at the Roxbury)

I kind of wanted this movie to be one of those which I would never see. I felt like an entire movie based off of an SNL script is a dumb idea. It obviously didn't work for 'Superstar' so why would it work now?

A good friend of mine (I love her to death) wanted her boyfriend (who is one of my roomates) to watch it. So, I just sat and watched it. Good idea? Not really.

This entire movie has ANNOYING characters, and I'm talking every character. There was not a single character that I didn't want to punch in the face.

The dialog was horrible and predictable as well as the story.

I feel bad about this film because the SNL short is quite funny and part of comedy history. This film just massacres it with an unnessesary story.

I gave it 2 stars overall, ONLY because the jokes were well placed. Even though some of the jokes in the movie ruined the original jokes from the SNL skit.

Overall: This movie is so dumb. I feel like I lost some IQ points watching it. It also ruined the original skit for me, I don't think I can laugh at it again. If I had a chance to rewind time, or train my brain to just blank out watching this film, I totally would. As far as my roomate and his girlfriend (I still love them), they enjoyed the hell out of it. Then again my roomate is well known to have a horrid taste in movies (imo). He seems to hate all the movies I love, and love all the movies I hate. Countless arguments have been thrown around the house which I end up just letting go over my head because he is also well known for being a troll. This review is totally dedicated to him.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Rules of Attraction review

Posted : 6 years ago on 5 October 2011 12:58 (A review of The Rules of Attraction)

Why I love this movie..... hmmm.....

I could talk about this film for hours. Really. It's my favorite college based movie ever. I wish I could write this without just flatly listing why I love it. Let's see how this goes...

First thing I love about this movie is the fact that it made me fall in love with Shannyn Sossamon. She's an exotic goddess in my opinion and does SUCH a good job of playing an indie girl in college.

That being said I can easily say that you really get emotionally attached to the characters. You understand all of them. Their likes, dislikes, how they feel about the other characters, about their dreams, debts, mistakes, everything. The 3 (4 if you count Victor) main characters are so well known in this movie you might as well know what cereal they eat every morning.

Your so in tune with these 3/4 characters, that the film smacks you in the face with another reason why I love this film. An unknown character that actually has a HUGE part to do in the film, that you don't notice until they make it blatantly clear. When I found out the reality behind the letters, and they clearly show you what/ who is really going on, I had the biggest grin on my face. The film tricked me. I love it when that happens.

I also love the narration parts when the characters let you know what they are thinking. The thoughts are so realistic, like you would have thought the same thing if you were in that character's shoes.

Another thing I love about this film is the camera work. Unique camera angles, transitions, and overall connection of the scenes are clever and visually appealing. The soundtrack isn't shabby either.

I also must note the cleverness of the fact that all of the main characters (if you didn't notice) are connected. Lauren who's into Sean dated Paul and Victor, Paul who's into Sean, and Sean who's friends with Victor. It's kind of hilarious in itself.

In addition to the undertone funny details of the film, this movie also packs a pretty big number of quite obvious hilarious moments which I feel were placed perfectly and was balanced with the drama that entails as well. It was the perfect ying and yang of drama and comedy.

Lastly I would like to note Victor's part in this film. He's hardly known until the 10 minute scene (in the last 45 minutes of the movie) where he quickly (not exaggerating) explains EVERY small little detail of his entire semester abroad. This scene has to be in my top 5 favorite scenes in a movie. It's SO funny and clever it made me want to spend a semester away to travel like he did.

"I no longer know who I am and I feel like the ghost of a total stranger."

The only flaw is Van Der Beek's acting. For real.

Overall: This film is brilliant. It's hilarious, it's sad, it's packed with emotion and college angst. It's the perfect college film with an indie feel (which is how college films should feel imo) highly recommended.

Makes me want to read the book.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Girlfriend Experience review

Posted : 6 years ago on 5 October 2011 12:21 (A review of The Girlfriend Experience)

Let me start off by saying I cannot stand Sasha Grey to begin with, even before she starred in this film.

That being said I can't stand this film. I do have to give it points for the whole 'indie feel' thank god this wasn't a motion picture or anything. A movie about a high class call girl? Really? What is there to say?

This film first off is emotionless. You don't feel for any of the characters. They are all dry and zombie like. They ALL talk about the same thing. The economy, the election, how they are only making 500,000 bucks a year instead of 700,000 (oh dear god! I can't pay for my gold encrusted floors!) and then the film tries to make you feel for this call girl whos making 10,000 bucks tops per customer just to listen to rich guys talk about this boring and meanless nonsence. Sorry it's just not working for me.

Sasha Grey did a horrible job acting. Sorry if you disagree. She has these facial expressions as if she's in the type of film she usually does. In the fight scene between her and her boyfriend which was obviously a big deal, I don't think the anger in her voice went past a 4/10. It was not convencing that she was tired of her boyfriend and had found someone else.

The 'diary' entries that she started in the beginning and eventually it just stopped shortly after like 30 minutes of the film were dumb and just about the dullness of the guys shes escorts. Why would anyone want to hear/ read about how dull people are?

Overall: This film is shit. Bleh. Other than the whole 'indie' feel this has nothing. I again, wash my hands, of this film.

I feel like Sasha Grey needs to stick with what she does best.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Naked Lunch review

Posted : 6 years ago on 5 October 2011 12:00 (A review of Naked Lunch)

I had added this film to my 'want to watch' list. What I do is I go to netflix, and find which movies on my list are on netflix. This one happened to be avalible.

I had no idea what this film was about all I knew was it was trippy. I was instantly enthralled with the story as soon as I found out what the drug of choice was. I thought it was hilarious, and quite disgusting to say the least.

Everytime I saw them eat, inject, snort this bug powder I would cringe. ugh.

As for the hallucination (which is most of the film) the bugs and alien looking things (typewriters) were on key. It truely convinced me that this guy had lost his mind and was never coming back. Peter Weller's acting, I should note, was very well done and had me drawn to his character throughout the entire film as well.

Another thing I must note, I absoluetly LOVED how it was set in the 1950's. I love the era's clothing, ideals and class. Place this kind of concept in an era like the 1950's and it's surely going to be amazing.

The only flaw about this film is it can get confusing. There was hardly any explanation of Interzone. All we know is it's in a middle east scenery, and a lot of writers go there to write 'reports', it's a place you can go to if your in trouble, and everyone there is down with some pretty disgusting ways to get high. Is it an imaginary place manifested from his hallucinations? (which are my thoughts about it) or is it really a place he escapes to due to the murder of his wife? On another note you get a lot out of the main character, who you connect with very well (other than the fact that he's completely bonkers, unless of course you are too :p), but as for most of the other characters you don't really connect with them. I noticed all of the characters despite if they are trying to help Bill or not have a dark side to them as well.

The ending was understandable, but to an untrained eye, could be very confusing.

Overall I loved the entire film, even if my roomates (who are not film studiers like myself) found it to be drawn out and confusing/ way to far out for their tastes.
I really want to read the book.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Revenge of the Nerds review

Posted : 6 years ago on 1 October 2011 11:45 (A review of Revenge of the Nerds)

This one is gonna be short.

I love this film because it gives 'Nerds' a chance to shine. Which hardly happens. Except in the 80's obviously lol.

This film is funny to a certain degree, but compared to the humor we are use to these days, it's kind of dull and cheesy. As for an 80's movie though it's pretty awesome.

I loved the vast types of nerds they had in the group of main characters. Each one of them had their own 'specialty' which made them ultra nerdy.

One of my favorite things about this film is Lewis's laugh. Don't deny it, you love it too.

I also must note, the jocks in this film are so much more asshole-ish than any jocks ever. True fact.

Overall the situations and they way they are resolved are unrealistic. For a quick example there is no way a group of like 6-8 people can turn a condemned frat house into the best looking frat house at the university in a day.

As an 80's film it is a classic and quite funny if you dumb yourself down a little. Charming and feel good.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Twilight of the Cockroaches review

Posted : 6 years ago on 1 October 2011 11:25 (A review of Twilight of the Cockroaches)

The fact that this film brings animation and real cinema together is in itself just awesome.

I would like to thank my roommate, if it wasn't for him then I wouldn't have seen this movie.

To view the life and struggles of cockroaches from their point of view is quite hilarious and a bit terrifying. The way it's portrayed in this film is so horrific. I'm pretty sure cockroaches have the worst lives ever.


In another note, the aspect of the human world perspective of this film... if I had that many roaches in my house, I would have called an exterminator or gotten a hotel room and found another apartment. It was pretty unpractical that this woman was getting bombarded by these roaches and her not do anything except spray some bug spray.

Regardless the cinematography was great. The way they transitioned between animation and real footage was good.

The story is also well developed. No unanswered questions, it's pretty straight and to the point. It's pretty sad actually there were watery eyes at some points. Hans was kind of an annoying character, but the other characters were well played.

Overall good film. Mostly noted for it's unique animation/real life cinematography and also the chance to see how the world is like from a roach's eyes.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pineapple Express review

Posted : 6 years ago on 1 October 2011 10:59 (A review of Pineapple Express)

I first want to express how awesome the cast is. Just look at that list of awesome people.



Ok moving on.

This film is absolutely hilarious. I don't think I've laughed so hard in a theater then at this movie. Of course pre ritual customs that you should do before watching this film probably helped with that, but I've seen it without that as well and laughed just as hard.

There are a ton of memorable quotes, and the cinematography is surprisingly amazing for a film like this. Now that I think about it this movie is quite surprising in a couple of ways. It's surprisingly violent for the comedy that it is. The acting is on que, the script is a little eh, but decent. Awesome soundtrack, you can't hate on a movie that has 'Electric Avenue' as the first song of the movie.

I also noticed something quite funny... I hope I'm not the only one who notices either but the Matheson/Budlofsky duo I noticed is a tiny joke on Pulp Fiction, or at least I think it is.

My favorite character by far is Red. Hilarious, sleazy and unpredictable. He made me laugh the most, and made me feel the most emotion towards his character than any other character in the film. I hate him at one point and then I love him it's like a switch he turns on and off.

Overall this is a surprisingly violent and funny film that never fails to bring a smile to my face.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block